Kamakura Sakura Viewing

This is the second part to my sakura viewing/walking I did this weekend. It was a bit cloudy all weekend so the only sunny shots I got were on Friday. There’s one more sakura shoot coming after this one with some otaku goodies thrown in for good measure.

Kamakura really is one of my favorite places to go in Japan. Even during this frantic busy weekend, there were still times were I could find peace and quiet during my walk. Even with those long winded tour groups. Reminds me of the old times were I went on random walks to get rid of the stress of work.
I’m going to put in some Elfen Lied location shots as well while I’m doing this.
Elfen Lied Station

This is Gokurakuji station on the Enoden line. This station was featured several times in the anime Elfen Lied. This time, I got the sakura tree in there like in the anime.
Train Shot
This is one of those little known locations to get an excellent sakura shot. This is near Gokurakuji station. The goal is to get a pic with the train in it. I have to watch Elfen Lied again but this shot may very well be in there as well. My favorite shot of the shoot.
Temple near Gokurakuji Station
This is a temple near Gokurakuji station. One of the most quiet places I’ve ever been in Japan. There are lots of sakura inside.
Sakura Elfen Lied View
This is the view the Kouta and Yuka used to view as kids in the anime Elfen Lied. It is shown a couple times. I managed to get this shot after several attempts and a long winded tour group there as well.
Summer Elfen Lied Shot
This is more the angle that was shown in Elfen Lied. This was taken during the summer during a different shoot.
Kamakura Buddha in Sakura
This is the place most sailors go in their first sightseeing trip in Japan (mine was Akihabara ^_^;). This is the Great Buddha or Daibutsu. Get here by exiting at Hase station on the Enoden line.
Lion in Sakura
Such a cool shot. This is a famous cherry blossom path that has so many sakura trees that they almost form a ceiling of flowers over your head. From Kamakura station, this path starts and ends at the largest shrine in Kamakura. Love those guardians!
Path of Sakura
This one came out good. This is that long path of sakura trees.
Shrine Lake Sakura
This was taken at the same shrine that I did the Reimu figure shoot at. There were LOTS more sakura this time. I was shocked how many there were.
Background
My background right now. As you can tell, I’m in the sakura mood.
Birds
This lake attracts a lot of birds. This one came out way better then I thought it would.

That’s all for my walk around Kamakura today. One more article coming up with…sakura of course. But, also some other dorkish things.

6 comments on “Kamakura Sakura Viewing

  1. Eric says:

    Wow, these are some splendid photo’s excellent work.

  2. Daniel(17) (from Germany) says:

    wow *-*
    Very nice Photos
    I love anime and Elfen Lied ..

    I love to Japan!
    I want to travel to Japan, so much … but I’m only 17 years old, and Japan is also very far away

    maybe there is someone who lives in Japan, speaks German and accompanied me a little bit in Japan.

    nice greetings

    Daniel

  3. charizardpal says:

    Very scenic! I’ve been thinking when I go to Japan this summer, I ought to visit Kamakura…just because it reminds me of Elfen Lied.

    • punynari says:

      Have fun and don’t forget to stop in Enoshima while you’re there. Besides the station I mention in this article, Enoshima has many locations where Elfen Lied took place such as the bridge and overlook. Not far at all from Kamakura.

  4. Look … I just loved it all.
    You have no idea how this anime has changed my life, I think it’s because I’m very emotional!
    Hmmm … What is your job? What do you do? I’d be very happy if I knew, because I’m only 15 years old, and I do not know what to do in life yet, and would like to know what you work.

    P. S. The Current World Lets Me Sad …

    • punynari says:

      Elfen Lied is a classic. Glad you enjoyed my pilgrimage.

      For my job, I work for the US Government in the Navy. I joined for many reasons but, like you, I had no idea what to do with my life.
      When I finish my time in this job, I might go into medicine (lab work or nurse) or perhaps a civilian government job instead.

      Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

